Skip to content

Alfred E Bacon III MD, FACP

ChristianaCare Site Principal Investigator

ChristianaCare Site Principal Investigator

Dr. Bacon is a clinician educator active in both the Infectious Disease section as well as the Department of Medicine at ChristianaCare. He holds an appointment as Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Sidney Kimmel Medical School of Thomas Jefferson University.

A graduate of The Colgate University and Jefferson Medical College, Dr. Bacon underwent Internal Medicine residency training at The Lankanau Hospital in Philadelphia followed by a research-oriented fellowship in Infectious Diseases at The University of Michigan.

He has served many roles at ChristianaCare, including Associate Program Director in the department of medicine from 1992 until 2007. In that role he developed the inpatient hospitalist program and served as research mentor for medicine, adolescent medicine, and sports medicine trainees.

Dr. Bacon’s research activities included 5 years of bench laboratory studies in the host response to Clostridioides difficile, developing Western Blot and ELISA assays for serum antibody levels to the toxins of C.difficile. This pathogen remains his focus of both laboratory and clinical research. He has contributed to the clinical management of the disease with his recent spearheading of the Fecal Microbiota Transplant (FMT) intervention in Delaware and ChristianaCare. His research history includes five years as co-investigator in the AIDS oriented NIH funded Community Program for Clinical Research in AIDS (CPCRA) during the original time frame of the AIDS pandemic. Recent activities include the ChristianaCare site Principal Investigator for the COVID 19 Plasma Infusion Protocol in the early stages of the COVID 19 pandemic.

In addition to his clinical responsibilities, Dr. Bacon currently serves as the Medical Director of Clinical Trials Research and is the Chair of the Clinical trials Advisory Group(CTAG) at ChristianaCare. Previously he was the President of the Delaware Academy of Medicine and now contributes to the Public Health Advisory committee of the Academy. He is the recipient of multiple teaching awards and a Laureate of the Delaware Chapter of the American College of Physicians.